Ryanair Fanclub Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

RyanStory

3 posters

Go down

RyanStory Empty RyanStory

Post by Cho0 Mon 2 Jun 2008 - 14:33

Hey guys,
I am a french student and I am writing a subject about the developpement of the aerodromes in Limousin (France) thanks to Ryan Air flights.
But, I am raising some questions :
When was the first flight to France operated? What was the connection, departure and destination aerodromes?
Are you familiar with IAA matters, i.e. Ryan Air has to operate flights between controlled aerodromes? In the yes case, do you know the IAA reference for this standard?

Best regards,
Cheers!
Cho0
Cho0
FR Starter
FR Starter

Number of posts : 2
Registration date : 2008-06-02

Back to top Go down

RyanStory Empty Re: RyanStory

Post by atoutprix Mon 2 Jun 2008 - 15:08

As regards the first Ryanair flights to France, see the FR story on :
http://www.ryanair.com/site/EN/about.php?page=About&culture=GB&pos=HEAD
where it says :
Dublin- Beauvais in 1997
Prestwick- Beauvais in october 1997
Stansted to Saint-Etienne and Carcassonne in summer 1998.

A few more informations in :
Siobhan Creaton : Ryanair - How a small Irish airline conquered Europe - Aurum Press, London, 2004
" O'Leary announced that Ryanair would begin to fly from Dublin to Paris and Brussels on 1 May 1997 for just 70 pounds sterling return - almost 100 pounds sterling cheaper than Aer Lingus." ("Paris" being Beauvais, and "Brussels" being Charleroi)
atoutprix
atoutprix
FR Moderator
FR Moderator

Number of posts : 2351
Registration date : 2007-12-13

Back to top Go down

Post by don_salvatore87 Tue 3 Jun 2008 - 12:54

IAA follow the standards and recommendations of ICAO (International Civil Aviation Organization), the eight commercial freedom is one ICAO agreement:

Quote from "Oxford Aviation Training - Air Law" book:

"The Air Services Transit Agreement"

Commercial Freedoms - The Eight freedom: